Jean de Pontac acquired the noble house of Haut Brion during the 16th century. In 1549, he built the castle and developed his estate. In 1649, Haut Brion wine is found during great meals in England. Much more appreciated on the other side of the Channel, the successors of Jean de Pontac decided to open “Pontack’s Head” a shop in London where it was possible to buy wine but also delicatessen. This place quickly became a must in London and actively participated in the development of the company. In 1749, the estate was bought by the Fumel family who continued to develop the business: exporting abroad, creating outbuildings at home, creating a French-style park and an orangery, nothing was too good for the Fumel family. In 1787, while Thomas Jefferson was in France, he stopped at the Haut Brion estate and praised it. Haut Brion wines were his favourites and were often part of great American meals.
The end of the 18th century is not famous for the Fumel family, who were bought the estate in 1801 by Charles-Maurice de Talleyrand Périgord. In 1836, the estate was bought by Joseph Eugène Larrieu during an auction and he developed it further. In 1855, he presented his wine at the Universal Exhibition, which was then classified as a Grand Cru.See more
The Dillon family still owns the castle today. Indeed, in 1975 it was Joan Dillon, daughter of Clarence Dillion, who took over the business and in 2008 it was Robert de Luxembourg, son of Joan Dillon, who took over the business. Haut Brion wine is made from an incredible blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Verdot.
Recently, Haut Brion wines have been making record-breaking bids at auctions. We regularly put Haut Brion wines up for sale.
If you would like to include a lot of Haut Brion wines, please do not hesitate to contact Marion QUESNE, head of the Wines & Spirits department at Aguttes.